Institute of Economic Growth


About Institute of Economic Growth

The Institute of Economic Growth (IEG) is an autonomous, multidisciplinary Centre for advanced research and training. Widely recognized as a Centre of excellence, it is one of India’s leading academic institutions in the fields of economic and social development. Its faculty of about 20 social scientists (economists, demographers and sociologists) and a large body of supporting research staff focus on emerging and often cutting-edge areas of social and policy concern. Many past and current faculty members are internationally renowned and award-winning scholars.

IEG’s research falls into nine broad themes: agriculture and rural development, environment and resource economics; globalization and trade; industry, labour and welfare; macro-economic policy and modelling; population and development; health policy; and social change and social structure. In addition, the Institute organizes regular training programmes for the trainee officers of the Indian Economic Service and occasional courses for officers of the Indian Statistical Service, NABARD, and university teachers. The Institute’s faculty members supervise doctoral students from India and abroad, provide regular policy inputs, and engage with government, civil society and international organisations. Over the years IEG has hosted many renowned international scholars, including Nobel Laureates Elinor Ostrom and Amartya Sen, and others such as Ronald Dore, Yujiro Hayami, Jan Breman and Nicolas Stern. Since 2022, in joint partnership with the Ministry of Finance, IEG organizes the Kautilya Economic Conclave, a leading conference on global economic issues.

Founded in 1952, by the eminent economist V.K.R.V. Rao, IEG’s faculty, Board of Directors and Trustees have included a wide range of distinguished intellectuals and policymakers, including V.T. Krishnamachari, C.D. Deshmukh, P.N. Dhar, A.M. Khusro, Dharm Narain, C. Rangarajan, C.H. Hanumantha Rao, Nitin Desai, T.N. Madan, P.C. Joshi and Bimal Jalan. Several former faculty members have served as members of the former Planning Commission or on the Prime Minister’s Panel of Economic Advisors. Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh has had a long association with the Institute, initially as Chairman of the Board (1972-1982) and as President of the IEG Society (1992-2021). Currently, N.K. Singh is the President of IEG, Ramesh Chand is the Chairman of the BoG, IEG and Chetan Ghate is the Director of IEG.

Available Jobs

Jobs posted by Institute of Economic Growth

No available jobs.

Academic and research institution